Australian War Museum - The Hall of Valour - Victoria Crosses awarded to Australian Freemasons

The Hall of Valour at the AWM honours the one-hundred Australians who have received the Victoria Cross; the highest award for bravery in time of war. The Hall of Valour recognises the deeds of ordinary Australians under the extraordinary conditions of war. Of these, seventeen (17%)  are known to have been Freemasons.


The Victoria Cross was instituted in 1856 by Queen Victoria and made retrospective to 1854 to cover the period of the Crimean War. The traditional explanation of the source of the gunmetal from which the medals are struck is that it derives from Russian cannon captured at the siege of Sevastopol. It was awarded to Australians for valour in several major conflicts since the Boer War until replaced by the Victoria Cross for Australia in 1991.


As a comparison, America’s Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1863 and has been awarded 3,465 times while the VC has been awarded 1,354 times across the whole British Empire. That’s a ration of almost 3:1


AWM has 65VCs which I believe to be the second largest public display of these medals in the world.


The names of the Brothers who have won the Victoria Cross are below.
Where photographs are available, medals are shown below the name of the VC winner.
Lt William Dunstan VC, Victoria Cross Winner

John Hurst Edmondson (1914-1941) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated into Lodge Liverpool No 197 on 3 April 1935. First Australian VC of WW2


Walter (Walley) Brown VC (1885-1942) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated Lodge Godeldrie No 558 on 7 April 1931.


Hugo Throssell VC (1884-1933) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated at Lodge Bulwer No 1068 England on 15 June 1917


Lt Neville R Howse VC (1863-1930), Australia's first Victoria Cross Winner and only medical member of the Australian Forces to be awarded the VC. Initiated Lodge Ophir on 29 Aug 1901

William Currey VC (1895-1948) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated into Lodge Carlton No 382 on 11 March 1930.


John Woods Whittle VC (1882-1946) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated at Lodge Sydney St Andrew no 7 on 1 Nov 1923

George J Howell VC (1893-1964) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated into Freemasonry on 2 Dec 1920


 Cameron Stewart Baird VC, MG (1981-2013) Initiated on the 23rd September 2006 in Lodge Thespian No. 256 ULG NSW & ACT.
Cameron Baird VC Freemason

Captain Albert Jacka, VC, MC & bar (1893-1932) Australia’s First WW1 VC

Arthur Blackburn VC (1892-1960) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated Peter's Collegiate Lodge No 58 South Australia on 9 Dec 1918.


James Rogers VC (1873-1961) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated at Lodge Robbie Burns No 88 UGLV on 11 Nov 1913

 Major Frederick Harold Tubb VC(1881 - 1917) Victoria Cross Winner. Initiated Euroa Lodge No 185 UGLV on 10 Feb 1914
F H Tubb Freemason VC